Jody VanTine Outstanding Educator Award

The Jody VanTine Outstanding Educator Award was established to recognize distinguished educational contributions made by teachers in the Granville Exempted Village School District (GEVSD).

Jody was a second grade teacher in the Granville Exempted Village Schools at the time of her death in March 1985. During her brief career, Ms. VanTine was admired, respected, and loved by the many students whose lives she touched as a teacher, as well as their parents and the teachers and staff with whom she worked. This annual award commemorates the life and career of Ms. VanTine and recognizes teachers who embrace qualities such as a sense of caring for others, an ability to understand and respond to the individual needs of students, and a commitment to education. Moreover, nominees should have made a “significant and distinguished contribution toward the growth and education of students” in the GEVSD.

Please take time today to nominate someone for this wonderful award! All nominations are kept confidential and will be reviewed by a committee consisting of board members of GEF and one or more teachers in the GEVSD. Nominations can be made by parents, students, teachers, staff, or community members. Please use our application for nominations, which are due June 3, 2019.


Please congratulate the 2018 Recipient:

 Mariah Gibbs

Past Recipients

2017 Jeanna Giovannelli and Amanda Tucker

2016 E.B. Smith

2015 Jill Esh

2014 Jill Riggs and Sara Sharp

2013 Jennifer Browning

2012 Cathy Bero

2011 Jana Von Dach and Elizabeth Sabo

2010 Mary Lou Wagner

2009 Kirk Milleman

2008 Darla Pallante and David Stewart

2007 Marty Bonar and Sue Hoben

2006 Sue Mullinex and Mark Smith

2005 Diana Jones

2004 Kris Meyers

2003 Dr. Julie Sherrill

2002 Cecilia Bodine and Phyllis Weaver

2001 Carolyn Gamble

2000 John Krumm and Terry Miller

1999 James E. Knapp

1998 Divena Smith

1997 Jean Gowans and Priscilla Pfalzer

1996 Mary Jonaitis

1995 Ruth Ann Parsley and Bridget Mills

1994 Don Pheneger

1993 Josephine Krause

1992 Noreen Pinkerton

1991 Ro Ghiloni

1990 Ken Woodring

1989 Peg Truman

1988 Anna Ackley

1987 Margaret Vessels


Click on image to see past recipients